//
you're reading...
Movies

Moneyball (Movie)

I caught a matinee showing of Moneyball a few days ago. Awesome, use of $5.50. The movie was probably longer than it should have been, but it told a great story and Brad Pitt is really good as an eccentric MLB GM. I also don’t usually like Jonah Hill, but he’s pretty good too. I liked how they used a lot of real baseball players in the movie too. I like it when a movie makes it as easy as possible to accept its reality. Using the same faces with names you’ve known goes a long way towards this mission. I’ve never read the book, and I wasn’t particularly familiar with sabermetrics before watching the movie, but I do have access to wikipedia, and it seems like the film is true to the book and the subject matter, to the extent that films are faithful to these things. The movie is not a cultural phenomenon, but is is interesting, informative, original and entertaining, all the things I like in a movie.

I give it 4 1/2 out of 5 chubby comedians in serious roles. 

About JayP

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli."

Discussion

One thought on “Moneyball (Movie)

  1. Great review, I really hope I get the chance to see this one soon!

    Posted by Matt Stewart | December 15, 2011, 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

